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Section 12: Fighters and PFs
V12.00 Rules for Fighters and PFs

V12.01 This Section details Strategic­level rules for Fighters [J4.0 through J13.0] 
and Fast Patrol ships (PFs) [K0.0]. Use the SFB rules cited for those 
units, unless this Section specifically states otherwise.

V12.02 For the purposes of this Section, “independent” or “independently 
operating” means a Fighter or PF operating without support of a PF 
Tender, Carrier or other support unit capable of supplying and at least 
towing (if not docking) the Fighter or PF. With respect to such units that 
may only operate from Bases or planets (e.g. Bombers [J14.0]), such 
units are “independently operating” if the Base/planet from which they 
were launched has been destroyed or captured and no other Base/planet 
is available at which they may land. Note that other units may rescue the 
crews, even if the units themselves must be abandoned/scuttled.

V12.03 Warp Booster Packs (WBPs) for Fighters [J5.0] and PFs [K1.6] are not 
usable on the Strategic level of play and are ignored in this Section (if a 
Fighter or PF has them, they are assumed to be “turned off” or made 
otherwise unavailable at the Strategic level, regardless of any usage at 
the tactical level).

V12.04 Under no circumstances may an independently operating PF or Fighter 
cloak on the Strategic Map, or use Strategic Cloaked Movement [V8.40]. 
This does not prevent a Carrier or PF Tender from doing so.

V12.05 Interceptors [K3.0] are treated as PFs except for the penalty in V12.14.

V12.10 PF Strategic Rules

V12.11 While a brief examination of the Strategic Movement [V8.00] rules 
(specifically V8.12) would seem to give PFs the handy ability to move with 
a BOMA of at least 4, this is not the case. PFs were never designed for 
extended, independent operation – if they were, there would be no need 
of PF Tenders [K2.0] or mech­links [K6.3] (to clear ionic charges). So 
while they are “warp­capable objects” within the scope of V8.11, their 
design prevents their usage for most independent Strategic Movement.

V12.12 In the event that a PF or PFs are somehow stranded in deep space 
(perhaps by escaping the destruction of their PF Tender or Carrier), they 
have a BOMA of two (2) if uncrippled [S2.4] or one (1) if crippled. If their 
crews are to have a chance to survive, they must move, using as direct a 
course as possible, towards the nearest friendly Base or Star System, or 
unit capable of towing them (or at least rescuing the crew).

V12.13 PFs are incapable of Emergency Movement [V8.40] (PF engines are 
already “hot” [K0.123] and will “burn up” if Emergency Movement is 
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attempted). PFs may not be independently deployed for Reactionary 
Movement [V8.60].

V12.14 Each Movement Phase that a “stranded” PF attempts to move on the 
Strategic Map, roll 1d6 and subtract 2 for an “Ace” crew [K8.0]. If the unit 
is crippled [S2.4], add 2; if it is an Interceptor [K3.0], add 1 to the roll. If 
the Terrain [V6.0] is anything other than Empty Space or Ringed Gas 
Giant, add 2 to the roll; for a Ringed Gas Giant, add 1. If the result is 3 or 
more, the PF's life support systems have failed and the crew has 
perished. The PF is considered destroyed. Otherwise, the PF may move 
in accordance with its BOMA.

V12.15 PFs operating independently are always considered Out Of Supply.
V12.16 While independently­operating PFs are technically capable of forming a 

Battle Hex [V13.10] if they enter a Hex with a hostile unit, no sane 
stranded PF crew would do so, unless their only intent was to 
immediately surrender without a fight. This does not prevent the hostile 
unit from forming a Battle Hex (e.g. intercepting and engaging the PF).

V12.17 It is important to note that, regardless of race, PFs are explicitly defined 
as ships in SFB [K0.1], and as such must be replaced by the Team if 
destroyed. See V4.14.

V12.20 Fighter Strategic Rules

V12.21 Fighters (defined here to include Administrative Shuttles [J2.0], Fighters 
[J4.0], Multi­Role Shuttles [J8.0], SWACs [J9.0], Heavy Fighters [J10.0], 
Bombers [J14.0], Remote­Controlled Fighters [J15.0], Mega­Fighters 
[J16.0] and Advanced Shuttles [J17.0]) cannot operate on the Strategic 
play level. They do not have a BOMA as defined in V8.0.

V12.22 If a Fighter is stranded in deep space, perhaps by escaping the 
destruction of its Carrier, then it cannot move on the Strategic Map. It will 
remain in the same Strategic Hex and is treated as a sub­light unit for the 
purposes forming a Battle Hex [V13.10].

V12.23 Fighters do not have sufficient life­support capacity to operate 
independently, even as a sub­light unit, for more than a brief time. If any 
Fighter is unable to reach a friendly unit/Base (or is not captured by a 
hostile unit) within one Movement Phase, its crew dies and the Fighter is 
considered destroyed. Pilot Quality [J6.0] does not extend this time.
Exception: If the Terrain [V6.0] is anything other than Empty Space, 

Ringed Gas Giant or Asteroid Field, the Fighter is 
automatically destroyed.

Example appears on following page for formatting reasons
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EXAMPLE

During the Movement Phase 3 of Turn 5, an Alliance 
Fighter squadron and its Carrier encounter a superior 
Coalition force. The Carrier and most of  the Fighters 
are destroyed, but one Fighter escapes. If it is not able 
to reach a friendly unit/Base (or is not captured by a 
hostile unit)  before the end of Movement Phase 4 of 
Turn 5, the crew perishes and the Fighter is lost.

V12.24 When purchasing Fighters, SFB rules [J1.85] stipulate that the Economic 
BPV of any Fighter is one­half (½) the Combat BPV. However, except for 
Carriers, this BPV does not include drone reloads, Chaff [D11.0], Fighter 
Pods [J11.0], RALADs [J12.0] or Warp Booster Packs (WBPs) [J5.0]. 
When a Fighter is purchased for deployment to a unit other than a 
Carrier, this equipment must also be purchased, and at the same time.
Exception: The rules for some specific Fighters (for example, the 

Federation F­7 [R2.F13]) stipulate that the equipment must 
be purchased separately, even when the Fighter is 
deployed to a Carrier.

V12.30 Carrier Strategic Rules

V12.31 Most units designated as “Carriers” have pre­defined supplies of drone 
reloads, Chaff [D11.0], Fighter Pods [J11.0], RALADs [J12.0] and Warp 
Booster Packs (WBPs) for Fighters [J5.0] and PFs [K1.6]. As long as 
such a unit is In Supply [V2.30], these resources will be replenished as 
they are used.

V12.32 If such a unit is rendered Out Of Supply [V2.40], then it may continue to 
service, repair and re­arm its Fighters and/or PFs for as long as it has 
replacement equipment, which is considered a normal part of any 
Carrier's Cargo capacity. Teams must track the consumption of these 
supplies until the Carrier is again In Supply.

V12.33 A Carrier is considered a Supply Point [V2.30] for its Fighters and/or PFs, 
even if the carrier itself if Out Of Supply, for as long as its resources last.

V12.34 An Auxiliary Unit [V15.00] assigned to a Fleet Support role, and 
specifically designated by the Owning Team as being used for Carrier 
replenishment, may also extend the time a Carrier's Fighters or PFs can 
operate normally when the Carrier is engaged in detached operations. 
Note that in such a case, the Auxiliary Unit's Cargo capacity may not be 
used, under V2.60, for resupplying the Carrier's other needs.

V12.35 Whether Fighter­ and/or PF­specific resupply is accomplished using a 
Carrier's Cargo capacity or that of an Auxiliary Unit, the consumption rate 
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of such supplies, on a per­Movement Phase basis, is one­eighth (1/8) of 
a Cargo Box for each Fighter, one­fourth (¼) of a Cargo Box for each 
Heavy Fighter, and one­half (½) of a Cargo Box for each PF. 

V12.40 Deck Crew Chief (Optional)

V12.41 A Deck Crew Chief organizes, trains and leads the Deck Crews who 
service Fighters aboard a Carrier. A highly skilled Deck Crew Chief 
(“Crew Chief”) positively affects a unit's ability to maintain and deploy its 
Fighter complement.

V12.42 Only a Carrier may have a Crew Chief. For the purposes of this rule, a 
unit is a “Carrier” if it normally has Fighters. A unit is not a “Carrier” if it 
simply has the necessary mech­links for Fighters, but carries Fighters as 
an option (for example, some frigates and Battle Tugs); nor are “Casual 
Carriers” [J4.62] or Fighter Bases in Star Systems considered a “Carrier” 
for the purposes of this rule. Similarly, PF Tenders are not a “Carrier” for 
the purposes of this rule. A Base with twelve (12) or more Fighters may 
have a Crew Chief (this must be stated when the Base is built, or 
modified to have enough Fighters, or at the start of play for the original 
Starbase owned by each Team).

V12.43 The Crew Chief replaces the Weapons Officer [V17.50]. An eligible unit 
may have a Crew Chief or a Weapons Officer, but not both. A Crew Chief 
cannot become a Weapons Officer, nor may a Weapons Officer become 
a Crew Chief (typically, a Crew Chief is a senior non­commissioned 
officer, while a Weapons Officer has a regular commission, among other 
differences). A Crew Chief gains (or loses) Rating as does any other 
Officer [V17.80]. A Crew Chief may function in any Shuttle or Fighter box, 
and must roll for their fate [V17.94] if their shuttle or Fighter box is hit.

V12.44 When the Crew Chief has a Rating of 2 or more, his/her leadership and 
innovative procedures allows the unit's Deck Crews to perform extra 
Deck Crew Actions [J4.817] each turn (but this does not increase the 
number of Deck Crews). Add the Crew Chief's Rating to the total number 
of Deck Crews the unit has, then take the square root and round down. 
The result is the number of extra Deck Crew Actions that may be 
performed (which creates an exception to the limit in J4.817); reduce it by 
half (round down) if the unit has Poor Crew [V18.80] Quality, but do not 
increase it if the unit has Outstanding Crew [V18.90] Quality. The player 
controlling the Carrier unit allocates these extra actions to specific Deck 
Crews; however, no individual Deck Crew may perform more than one 
plus one­half Deck Crew Actions in a turn. If not all additional Actions can 
be assigned to a Deck Crew under that limit, then the unused Actions are 
lost.
Exception: Deck Crews formed via V12.49 are not able to benefit from 

this rule.
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V12.45 The square root, round down, of the Crew Chief's Rating is the number of 
extra Warp Booster Packs [J5.42] and Chaff Pods [D11.2] that the carrier 
will have available for its Fighter complement. These will be stored in the 
hanger bay(s), just as are the normal supply of WBPs and Chaff. The 
BPV of the Carrier is not increased nor is there any BPV charge for the 
equipment change (this is an exception to V4.26). If the unit is a Base, 
then it may use V20.72 or this rule, but not both. If the unit has Poor 
Crew Quality [V18.80], then this benefit is canceled.

V12.46 When the Crew Chief has a Rating of 4 or more, take the square root of 
his/her Rating, round down and subtract one (1), then add the result to 
the number of spare administrative shuttles the unit has, as shown in 
SFB Annex #3. If the unit is a Base, then it may use V20.73 or this rule, 
but not both. If the unit has Poor Crew Quality [V18.80], then this effect is 
canceled out. However, if aboard a unit with Poor Crew Quality [V18.80], 
take the square root (round down) of the Crew Chief's Rating and 
subtract one (1). The result is the number of shuttles and/or Fighters 
made available for use in spite of V18.842, except that the number of 
unavailable shuttles/Fighters still cannot be less than one (1).

V12.47 If the unit does not have Outstanding Crew [V18.90] Quality, but wishes 
to prepare a spare administrative shuttle during a battle [V18.942], then it 
may do so by rolling one die. If the Crew Chief has a Rating of 9, subtract 
one (1) from the roll. If the result is less than the square root (round 
down) of the Crew Chief's Rating, then the unit may prepare the shuttle. 
Only one attempt may be made per battle/scenario, and the Crew Chief 
cannot use this ability if the unit has Poor Crew Quality [V18.80].

V12.48 Higher maintenance standards under a skilled Crew Chief allows pilots 
who are in Fighters based on the Crew Chief's unit a better chance to 
survive ejection [J6.612]. To determine the adjustment, take the square 
root (round down) for the Crew Chief's Rating and subtract one (1), 
treating a negative result as zero (0). Subtract the result from the roll to 
see if the pilot(s) survive ejection. If the unit has Poor Crew Quality 
[V18.80], then this effect is canceled out; however, if it has Outstanding 
Crew [V18.90] Quality and the Crew Chief has a Rating of at least two 
(2), then add one (1) to the adjustment before applying it to the die roll.

V12.49 If the unit's regular Deck Crews are killed in combat, a skilled Crew 
Chief's leadership may be used to convert a limited number of regular 
Crew Units into Deck Crews (this creates an exception to J4.814), but the 
Crew Chief may not use this ability if the unit has Poor Crew Quality 
[V18.80]. The square root (round down) of the Crew Chief's Rating, 
minus one (1), is the number of Crew Units that may be converted during 
any scenario/battle; each conversion takes one (1) full combat turn (32 
impulses), during which the Crew Chief may not engage in other actions. 
Deck Crews formed under this rule may not benefit from V12.44. Deck 
Crews, whether part of the unit's original complement or converted under 
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this rule, cannot function as a Deck Crew except in an intact shuttle or 
Fighter box. Alternatively, if all Deck Crews have been killed, a Crew 
Chief with a Rating of four (4) or more may function as one (1) Deck 
Crew (an intact Fighter or shuttle box is still required).

V12.50 Orion Pirate Fighters and PFs

V12.51 While the other Teams are composed of a handful of individual races 
from vast empires, the Orion Pirates are racially­diverse semi­
autonomous privateers. Their equipment is frequently an ad hoc hodge­
podge from multiple sources. This is true of Fighters used by the Pirates.

V12.52 The Orion Pirate Team may purchase Fighters for any Orion Pirate unit 
that is equipped with appropriate mech­links. It is not necessary for the 
Fighters to be purchased at the same time the unit is built (this is an 
exception to V4.14), nor is it necessary for the Pirates to purchase the full 
complement of units (which is an exception to V4.15). However, per 
V12.24, the Pirates must purchase equipment (e.g. WBPs, Chaff, 
Drones, Pods) separately. Alternatively, if a unit that qualifies as a “True 
Carrier” is chosen, supplies do not need to be purchased separately if all 
supported units are also purchased at the same time as the ship and 
V4.26 is obeyed.

V12.53 The Orion Pirate Team may purchase any Fighter in active use by the 
Alliance, and may use such Fighters for up to 100% of the Fighters 
deployed by the Pirate Team. When a specific Fighter model is not 
available to the Alliance until a specific Year, the Orion Pirates may only 
purchase it starting one (1) Year after it is available to the Alliance.
Exception: If the Hydrans have been retained as an Alliance race, then 

the nature of the Hydran presence in Border Patrol prevents 
the Pirate Team from acquiring Hydran Fighters. There 
simply are not enough Hydran Fighters for one to “fall off 
the transport” without being noticed (this does not prevent 
the Pirates from obtaining Hydran Fighters through capture 
[V12.56]).

V12.54 The Orion Pirates may purchase any Fighter in active use by the 
Coalition, but no more than 30% (round down) of all Fighters deployed by 
the Orion Pirates may be from Coalition sources. When a specific Fighter 
model is not available to the Coalition until a specific Year, the Orion 
Pirates may only purchase it starting two (2) Years after it is available to 
the Coalition.

V12.55 When altering existing Fighters assigned to a given ship, the Pirates must 
obey V4.26; however, when adding Fighters to a ship that has capacity to 
spare (e.g. more mech­links than Fighters assigned), V4.26 is ignored 
(but see the alternate process in V12.52).
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V12.56 If the Orion Pirate captures a unit equipped with intact Fighters of a type 
the Orion Pirate Team cannot use (either because they are not yet 
available under V12.53 or V12.54, or they are Hydran Fighters), and the 
unit's Fighter bays survive the capture, then the Orion Pirates may 
transfer the captured Fighters and necessary support equipment to an 
Orion Pirate ship under V19.94. The captured unit must have at least one 
(1) undestroyed Fighter bay, and only one (1) captured Fighter (which 
may be one in storage) may be transferred to an Orion Pirate unit per 
intact Fighter bay. The Economic cost of the Fighters transferred is 
deducted from the scrap value of the captured unit [V19.943]. Fighters 
gained under this rule are not replaced if destroyed (which is an 
exception to V4.23) unless and until the Pirate Team becomes eligible to 
purchase the Fighter normally (this can never happen for Hydran 
Fighters).

V12.57 Other than Deathrider PFs [K7.0], the Orion Pirate Team may not build or 
operate PFs, PF Tenders or PF Flotillas. The Orion Pirate Team may 
have, in service, a maximum of one (1) Deathrider PF for each Pirate unit 
equipped with an appropriate mech­link to support the PF, and the 
Deathrider PF may be purchased after (but not before) its supporting unit 
(which is an exception to V4.14). See V20.34.

End of Section 12: Fighters and PFs
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